1991 ATCC Winner Jim Richards Nissan R32 Skyline GT-R


Available: In stock

SKU: A89176 Availability:In stock Shipping: Calculated at checkout Category: Tags: , , , , , , , ,


#1. 1991 ATCC WINNER
Driver: Jim Richards
(Each model comes with a Certificate of Authenticity personally signed by Jim Richards)
Limited to 1300

Season review
1991 was the low point for Group A touring car racing in Australia. Grid numbers plunged in a harsh economic climate. Just eleven cars entered the Wanneroo round of the ATCC and just fifteen started the once prestigious Sandown 500. On track the Touring Car Championship was dominated by the Gibson Motor Sport prepared Nissan Skyline GT-Rs of Jim Richards and Mark Skaife. Tony Longhursts new 2.5 litre evolution spec BMW M3 was the only car to interrupt the clean sweep. A final round DNF for Richards was not enough to take the title away, despite Skaife scoring more points over the course of the season. With only the best eight results counting Richards won the championship by five points. Gibson Motor Sport did not appear at the Sandown 500 but Nissan still won through the Bob Forbes owned car driven by Mark Gibbs and Formula Holden ace Rohan Onslow. Richards and Skaife swept all before them at the Bathurst 1000, establishing a race record that still stands. Third placing at Bathurst gave the Australian Endurance Championship to Gibbs and Onslow.